MINUTES OF OF SPECIAL MEETING VARNER CREEK UTILITY DISTRICT

August 12, 2016

STATE OF TEXAS :

COUNTY OF BRAZORIA :

The Board of Directors of Varner Creek Utility District of Brazoria County, Texas convened in special session, open to the public in the office of 1st Capital Business Services outside the boundaries of the District on the 12th day of August, 2016, at 9 am. and the roll was called of the duly constituted officers and members of the Board, to-wit:

Jim Gillenwaters President

Gene Pell Vice-President / Financial Director

Wayne Pollard Asst. Secretary
Allan Sassin Secretary
Rebecca Carroll Director

Also present were the following: Debra Lanehart, 1st Capital Business Services, Joe Morrow First Southwest Financial, and Ray Sauer. All members were present thus constituting a quorum.

Jim Gillenwaters called the meeting to order at 9:00 am.

- 1. Debt service requirements for the 2016 tax period:
 - Principal and Interest on 2007 and 2008 Bonds totaled \$790,293.76.
 - Annual Administrative cost: (Tax Collector, Appraisal District and Paying agent fees) \$15,000.00.
 - 2016 Certified property valuation: \$125,952,776.
 - Calculated 2016 Debt Service Tax Rate: \$0.64 per \$100 valuation. Decrease to \$0.61 per \$100 valuation because of high reserves balance.
 - Maintenance and Operations Tax Rate: Increase to \$0.10 per \$100 valuation

Motion to set the 2016 Debt Service tax rate at \$.61/\$100 valuation made by Director Pollard. Motion seconded by Director Sassin and the vote was unanimous.

Motion to set the 2016 M&O tax rate at \$.10/\$100 valuation made by Director Sassin. Motion seconded by Director Carroll and the vote was unanimous.

2. Motion to set the Public Hearing on the 2016 proposed tax rate for 9:00am September 21, 2016 in the Oak Room made by Director Sassin and seconded by Director Pollard. The vote was unanimous.

3.	Motion to accept list of projects prepared by Baker & Lawson Engineering to
	be submitted with Application to the TCEQ for Use of Surplus Funds was
	made by Director Carroll, seconded by Director Pollard and the vote was
	unanimous.

4. Tabled.

(SEAL)

Debra Lanehart District Administrator