MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING VARNER CREEK UTILITY DISTRICT

July 11, 2013

STATE OF TEXAS	:	
COUNTY OF BRAZORIA	:	

The Board of Directors of Varner Creek Utility District of Brazoria County, Texas convened in special session, open to the public in the office of Debra Lanehart, 310 East Brazos, West Columbia, Texas outside the boundaries of the District on the 11th day of July, at 9:00 a.m. and the roll was called of the duly constituted officers and members of the Board, to-wit:

Ray D. Sauer	President
Gene Pell	Vice-President / Financial Director
James Gillenwaters	Secretary-Treasurer
Wayne Pollard	Asst. Secretary-Treasurer
Allan Sassin	Director

All members were present, except Director Sassin thus constituting a quorum.

Also present were the following: Debra Lanehart, 1st Capital Business Services

Director Sauer called the meeting to order at 9:00am

- A. Abatement: No action was taken on the agenda item.
- B. Tax Seminar:

Director Gillenwaters made the motion to approve the necessary expenses for District Administrator, Debra Lanehart and Paula Jones to register, and attend the Annual Tax Seminar in Austin, Texas to prepare for the upcoming VCUD election in May 2014. Director Pell seconded the motion and the vote was unanimous. C. Series 1996 Bond:

Director Pell made the motion to approve the Resolution Authorizing the Redemption Prior to Maturity of Certain Outstanding VCUD Waterworks and Sewer System Combination Unlimited Tax and Revenue Bonds, Series 1996. Director Pollard seconded the motion.

The resolution redeems \$125,000 of the principal payment for the 8/15/16 maturity date and \$75,000 of the principal payment for the 8/15/15 maturity date. The \$200,000.00 payment will be remitted with the 8/15/13 payment.

The vote: 4 yes, 0 no

<u>D.</u> Budget: Reports for review were distributed to the Board. Board will address the topic for action at the next regular meeting of the Board.

There being no other business to come before the Board, Director Pell made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Director Gillenwaters and the vote was unanimous.

(SEAL)

Debra Lanehart District Administrator